PDA

View Full Version : What happens if I'm working while SD runs?


mwkingsandiego
07-31-2009, 09:23 PM
I started a copy with SD and then started to do some work on the machine..okay, I realize that sounds like a not-good-idea, but I did it anyway.

So now SD is still running, but it has stopped copying with abut 3/4 of the files evaluated. If I stop monkying with the machine, will it restart, or is this dead?

Thanks!

Michael:confused:

dnanian
07-31-2009, 10:26 PM
Hard to say, but I'd stop it and restart with Smart Update, and quit any application that might have large files open (e.g. Entourage, VMWare, iTunes, Parallels, etc).

mwkingsandiego
08-07-2009, 10:17 PM
Well, coincidentally, I found myself in this situation again and again SD just stopped, like it was waiting for me to finish. When I was done with Mail, i switched over to Safari and after a little while, SD started copying again and as far as I could tell terminated normally.

Seems brilliantly clever to me.

dnanian
08-07-2009, 10:56 PM
It was likely stuck on a file, actually -- and it either finished and moved on or retried...