PDA

View Full Version : Clone from one iMac to other iMac's


TTD
04-09-2009, 06:43 AM
Hi,

I would like to know. Is it possible, to make an image or clone on an external drive and then use that image to install another iMac (10.5.6). Every now and then we buy a new iMac and then I have to install Final Cut, which takes hours... and then I have to configure a lot of other stuff. It takes 1 1/2 day's.

I'd like to make one complete image and then roll it out on another (or if one crashes ... use that image).

Thanks for your time and attention.

dnanian
04-09-2009, 08:08 AM
Yes, that's definitely possible, but you'll likely have to re-enter the serial number information when you use it on a different Mac.

Note, though: until Leopard, the OS wasn't 'universal', so you couldn't move directly from a Power PC to an Intel. You can these days, though... as long as the two Macs can both run the same build (not version) of the OS. You have to be a bit careful with a brand new Mac... but if it's older, it shouldn't be an issue.

TTD
04-09-2009, 10:29 AM
Thanks Dave