PDA

View Full Version : SD Mounts Drive but how do I unmount it when done?


drpiety
04-01-2009, 01:28 PM
Hi,

It is really nice that SD mounts my Lacie Drive to make the Backup. What I cannot manage without error message is to unmount it. After Completion I run the script:


do shell script "diskutil unmount /Volumes/Lacie" user name "USER" password "PASS" with administrator privileges

The drive is unmounted but I get a failure message in the log.

Please help me to get rid of the ugly red line in the log and keep in mind that I have no knowledge of scripting. I found those lines on the net and they make sense but SD does not like them.

Thanks

dnanian
04-01-2009, 01:34 PM
Where do you do that? In a shell script (it's not a shell script)... SD! automatically unmounts a drive, if it started unmounted, on a scheduled copy already...

drpiety
04-01-2009, 01:41 PM
Oh thanks thatís great thatís why I got the error and still it unmounted!
So easy, is this documented somewhere?

dnanian
04-01-2009, 02:00 PM
It's not, actually -- it's just kind of "magic". :)

transco
04-08-2009, 01:59 PM
Where do you do that? In a shell script (it's not a shell script)... SD! automatically unmounts a drive, if it started unmounted, on a scheduled copy already...
Is there a shell script that automatically dismounts a drive during the initial startup procedure? The drive I am going to use for my target is an internal drive (Mac Pro) and I'd like to dismount it after the computer boots up, then leave it for SuperDuper to mount and dismount during the nightly scheduled cloning of the master boot drive.

dnanian
04-08-2009, 02:44 PM
You could write a small AppleScript program that says something like

tell application "finder" to eject "disk name"