PDA

View Full Version : SuperDuper tries to contact a server?


tchen
02-10-2009, 05:04 AM
When I ran SuperDuper today, my Mac told me that it wanted to make an HTTP connection to server 'versionchecker.blacey.com'. (My computer has a program that notifies about every network communication.) Is this normal program behavior for SuperDuper?

dnanian
02-10-2009, 08:25 AM
Yes, it's checking for an update. You can disable this, if you'd like, in SD!'s preferences. Note, though, that this is the only way we proactively notify you about updates.

tchen
02-10-2009, 08:56 AM
Thanks, I just wanted to check that it was expected behavior, and not an infection on my computer contacting a malicious server. I was wondering because the server was in a different domain than shirt-pocket.com.

dnanian
02-10-2009, 09:42 AM
That's right: we host the update notification XML on a different server.