PDA

View Full Version : Cancel shut down during backup


krumeich
12-16-2008, 02:14 PM
Though SuperDuper is one of the most valuable pieces of software I've used in +20 years of IT experience, there's one thing that bugs me:

Occassionally, I start a backup and still have the option set to shut down my Mac from a previous session. That is, I forgot to reset this option and I don't want the machine to shut down in this session. Or, during back up, I notice something and suddenly change my mind so that I don't want to shut down the machine after all.

In those cases, I'd like to have a "Cancel shut down" checkbox or menu option so that I can continue working without stopping the backup process.

Can you put this on the wishlist for a future version? Much appreciated. Thanks.

dnanian
12-16-2008, 02:28 PM
Can't you just stop the backup?

krumeich
12-17-2008, 07:09 AM
Yeah, I guess I could. But if the backup has already progressed to 80%, stopping the backup and restarting it after resetting the "shutdown" option seems like a waste of time.

dnanian
12-17-2008, 08:38 AM
Well... Smart Update should be able to 'catch up' within a very short period of time. But anyway, I understand the request (and similar ones with sleep/restart/etc): thanks!