PDA

View Full Version : Migrating my MacBook Pro to a higher capacity drive


superfancy
10-18-2008, 05:54 PM
Hello. I'm hoping to get some pointers on how to most effectively migrate my MacBook Pro 2.2GHz to a higher capacity drive. I have yet to make a clone of my current drive as I'm waiting on the new 320GB drive to show up.

From reading a previous thread, I learned that I'll likely have to re-activate my Adobe apps, which is slightly irritating but easy nonetheless.

When I get the new drive and install it, will I first need to format and install Leopard on it?

I just want to make sure I know what I'm getting myself into preemptively so there are no surprises.

Thanks for your time and any advice would be appreciated...

dnanian
10-18-2008, 05:58 PM
Yes, you'll want to 'transfer' the licenses for your Adobe apps. There's no real trick here, other than to ensure your new drive is properly partitioned (as "GUID"). No need to install Leopard - that'll be restored from the original drive.

Remember, though: we don't copy BootCamp/Windows volumes...

superfancy
10-18-2008, 06:09 PM
Dave, thanks for the quick response. To partition/format the new drive as GUID, will I startup from my Leopard Install Disc and then use Drive Utility? Or startup from the clone of my old drive that I will have put on my firewire disc?

Thanks again...

dnanian
10-18-2008, 06:10 PM
Sure, using Disk Utility from the Leopard install disc should work well.