PDA

View Full Version : Using with Drobo


curtd
08-28-2008, 09:39 PM
I have a MacPro with 3 drives in it and I used to back them all up to a 600GB LaCie drive using LaCie's "Silverkeeper" every I logged in.

I am looking for specific steps to use SD to do the same thing with my new Drobo with 4 1TB drives in it.

Help!

Peace, Curt

dnanian
08-28-2008, 10:07 PM
Have you looked through the User's Guide, Curt?

Basically, you'll want to partition the drobo into (at least) three volumes, one for each drive, and schedule all three. They won't run when you 'log in', but they'll run when you're logged in and the time comes around.

curtd
08-28-2008, 10:28 PM
I did not understand that partition arrangement from reading the guide, I don't do too well with directions that are not written for what I'm doing specifically.

Given that I travel a lot and the Mac is off, I don't see how the Scheduler will work for me at all. That's why the "Silverkeeper" was so handy with it's Backup on Startup feature.

dnanian
08-28-2008, 10:44 PM
Well, you can open the scheduled copies window and click the 'copy now' button for each schedule you wish to run 'now'...