PDA

View Full Version : Backing Up & Updating (knowing the difference)


Enigmacode
08-26-2008, 08:29 AM
Hi Gang

I have 2.1.4 (v82)
I'm using Tiger 10.4.11

I have 5 Lacie External Drives all containing Media/Video/Audio/FCP Project Files, for the contents of a WWII Documentary.

I have #2 very reliable OWC TB Drives, which I partitioned for use as Back Up Drives.

Just to be sure; when copying/cloning for the FIRST time, do I use Copy newer files, or Copy different files?

Just to be sure; when UPDATING contents of the designated Back Up drive, do I use Copy newer files, or Copy different files?

http://www.locationstudio.net/Copy-1.jpg
http://www.locationstudio.net/Copy-2.jpg

Thanx
Mike

dnanian
08-26-2008, 09:23 AM
Well... it depends entirely on what you want to accomplish. In general terms, you should probably use Smart Update. Why are you considering Copy Newer or Copy Different?

Enigmacode
08-26-2008, 09:35 AM
Dave thanx

Let me explain again;
All I'd like to do is BACK UP DATA, then occassionally update that data.

That's it my friend

You've been helpful before, I'd just like to make it simple, so I can started.

When I initially open up Super Duper it's set for;
"Copy to" - using Backup - all files

This seems like a no brainer when I copy the files for the first time.

But what about when I UPDATE additional data, or changed data?

Typically why would you use "Smart Update" (what is it's function?)

Thanx

dnanian
08-26-2008, 09:59 AM
Well, you would typically use Smart Update to update a backup to once again reflect the exact state of the selected files from the source. Copy Newer and Copy Different do not do that, since neither removes files that have been deleted (or moved or renamed). In nearly all cases, you want to use Smart Update.

Enigmacode
08-26-2008, 10:14 AM
"you would typically use Smart Update to update a backup"

Dave please help me with this;

I've ALREADY used "Copy newer files" to a VIRGIN Hard Drive. Have I done the WRONG thing? I've already looked at the copied files, and everything's there. So what have I missed?

Can't I just continue and use Smart Update to update files as I go along?

If 'Smart Update' is all you should be using, then what are the other options for?

Thanx
Mike

dnanian
08-26-2008, 10:23 AM
No, you haven't done anything wrong. Copy Newer won't hurt things, it just isn't doing what you want. It copied all the files -- it's just that subsequent updates won't handle changes the way you want.

Just switch to Smart Update now.

The other options are to handle cases other than yours. :)

Enigmacode
08-26-2008, 10:38 AM
Dave

U DAH MAN! :D