PDA

View Full Version : SD and Time Machine


tasha edwards
07-19-2008, 09:38 AM
Hi,

Simple question here...

When I'm running from the sandbox (which is most of the time) Is Time Machine backing up the sandbox or the drive it's a clone of?

Seems to me that if it's backing up the sandbox that wouldn't be much good if there were a problem because doing a restore to my actual drive would be full of aliases.

Does SD direct time machine to backup the root or sandbox?

Thanks

Wayne

dnanian
07-19-2008, 09:47 AM
It's backing up both, most likely, unless you told it not to back up a drive.

tasha edwards
07-19-2008, 09:59 AM
Dave,

Yes your right I have excluded every drive but my HD-Backup which is what I make the sandbox from. Do you see any reason to include the sandbox to the time machine backups?

Thanks for your very quick response.

Wayne

dnanian
07-19-2008, 10:18 AM
I can't think of any particular reason to, no.

tasha edwards
07-19-2008, 11:03 AM
I love SuperDuper and am really glad you've made it compatible with Leopard.
I think I may be one of your best salesman (to my friends anyway)

Thanks for the great support.

Wayne

tuni
07-19-2008, 11:43 AM
wayne,
FWIW, I turn off Time Machine while using SD (Smart BU or Sandbox). Then when SD finishes, turn TM back on. This way I think I'll not have any confusion re. by backups.

Just an idea...

dnanian
07-19-2008, 11:57 AM
Appreciated, Wayne! It's always better when positive comments come from objective 3rd parties. :)

Tuni -- that wouldn't really apply to his situation, since he's wondering what TM is doing when it's on, as opposed to having some conflict with SD! itself.