PDA

View Full Version : New to SD - question about HD size


Octo
06-30-2008, 10:05 PM
Hello everyone,

I am about to order an external FW drive (a lacie 250 or 320 drive) but not sure about which one to get. My MPB has a 200GB drive (non standard) but wondering how superduper will work with a bootable backup.

If I do a bootable backup / clone, does that mean that i 'lose' the rest of the drive if I end up getting the 320 drive? or is it possible to have other stuff in the rest of the drive (the 120 that's left) for other files? or is this used by the sandbox feature? (not 100% sure on how that works)

Thanks in advance!

dnanian
06-30-2008, 10:07 PM
You can partition the drive, Octo, into a 200GB volume and a 120GB volume, and use the 120GB for something else.

(Don't forget that it's not backed up, though!)

Octo
06-30-2008, 10:14 PM
EDIT: Nevermind, found the answer in the forums. My XP install is not really essential (just use it for cross platform / browser testing, and the occasional diablo2 game since 10.5.3 borked support for that), so no biggie.

I'll still be getting SD once my drive arrives, thanks again for the quick response.



---------------------(old post before edit)
Wow....that was a quick reply!

Thanks!
One more question: If i use Boot Camp on OSX (leopard) will SuperDuper back that partition as well, or only the mac partition. If it does, is that bootable just like it would from the internal drive?

dnanian
06-30-2008, 10:48 PM
Only the Mac partition.

Octo
06-30-2008, 10:50 PM
Oops didn't see the reply before I edited. Thanks for the reply though!