PDA

View Full Version : Journaled question...


rock15478
05-13-2008, 11:02 PM
Dave,

Hope you're not sick of my "newbie" questions yet.

I currently back up 2 drives nightly. One is the system boot drive, which is formatted as Mac OS Extended (Journaled), and the second drive is just for data files and is formatted as Mac OS Extended. Both backup partitions are formatted as Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Is this a problem? Do I need to change my second drive to be journaled?

And also another question regarding my second drive...In the "Ownership and Permissions" tab, it has "read only" selected under the "you can" option. Why is this? My main drive says "read and write." I am the only user on this computer, and I write files to that drive pretty regularly.

Thanks for all the help!

dnanian
05-13-2008, 11:08 PM
It doesn't matter of Journaling matches.

The drive's ownership is set at the time of formatting, as I recall: its current values are likely the defaults...

rock15478
05-14-2008, 12:40 AM
So would it hurt to turn journaling on the second drive? Will this interfere with my SD! backups in any way or the data on this second drive?

dnanian
05-14-2008, 07:25 AM
No, it will neither hurt nor interfere.

rock15478
05-14-2008, 03:50 PM
OK, after much research I finally figured out why I originally formatted my second drive as Mac OS Extended, and not journaled. I do audio and video editing, and both Pro Tools and Final Cut Pro recommend leaving journaling OFF for the recordable drive. When I formatted my backup partitions for SD!, the user guide recommended formatting as journaled...so I did...I'm probably worrying way too much about this, but should I reformat the SD! backup partition as Mac OS Extended? (and turn journaling off) - or should I just leave it on?

And if SD! actually creates an identical clone, why doesn't it change the format of the drive from the source to the destination?

Thanks for all the help, as always.

dnanian
05-14-2008, 04:43 PM
Don't worry about journaling. I'd leave it on for the backup: it won't hurt anything, and can help in some situations.

If you request an erase-then-copy, we'll duplicate the formatting of the drive from the source to the destination. If, however, you don't erase, we retain the properties you've selected. It doesn't affect the files within the disk (and allows you to do things like convert from case insensitive to case sensitive).