PDA

View Full Version : Rotation of destination drives


mconnally
02-21-2008, 07:07 AM
I would like to change my backup regime to use two different backup destination drives in rotation, keeping one off-site while backing up to the other one, then periodically swapping them around. When I swap from one destination drive to the other, can I use 'Smart Update', or will I need to do a complete 'Erase and Copy' each time I swap?

dnanian
02-21-2008, 09:10 AM
You can use Smart Update: we do a full compare each time we run.

paulp
06-01-2008, 05:27 AM
Hi Dave,
I've just bought SD, which I've used unregistered before but now want to use the smart update feature.
Like mconnally, I want to use two drives in rotation so that I have a backup offsite.
I plan to either do a smart update each "end of day" using a different drive each day OR possibly I might use one drive over all of week 1 and then the other drive over week 2.
1. Should each external drive have the exact same name?
2. And will I need to somehow setup two different scripts or instructions to use two drives in this way please?

I will be asking someone else to plug the drive in each night so want it to be as easy as possible.
Thanks for a great product.
Paul

dnanian
06-01-2008, 08:18 AM
Drop me a note to support, Paul.

paulp
06-01-2008, 08:38 AM
OK, have emailed.
cheers
Paul