PDA

View Full Version : I only want to copy 2 folders


DavidFerrington
02-18-2008, 08:56 AM
I've just bought SuperDuper (as I said I would about 2 yrs ago, when it was a better fit for me :).
I just want to copy 2 folders and the files and sub-folders.
I've created a script that just says to copy the 2 folders (see attached script at bottom).
However SuperDuper scans all the files on my HD and is copying them all across - the taget is only 20GB so there is no room.

What am I doing wrong? :confused:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Class</key>
<string>Composite</string>
<key>Description</key>
<string>Backup MLDX Log and Scout files from (source) to (target).</string>
<key>Directives</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>Directive</key>
<string>clone</string>
<key>Item</key>
<string>Users/david/Documents/CQ CQ CQ/MacLoggerDX Logs</string>
</dict>
<dict>
<key>Directive</key>
<string>clone</string>
<key>Item</key>
<string>Users/david/Documents/Scouts/2nd Folder</string>
</dict>
</array>
<key>Include Directives</key>
<array/>
</dict>
</plist>

dnanian
02-18-2008, 10:48 AM
Include "Exclude all files" in the include tab, and it won't coy everything (by default, everything is copied).

DavidFerrington
02-18-2008, 11:18 AM
Thanks, I thought it might be something like that, but wasn't sure how.

So my only issue with this is that it still evaluates all the files on the disk (it's a 1TB disk, thank heavens its not full).

I would be better imho if it only evaluated the files within the folders I told it to copy and not every file.

timlance
02-18-2008, 12:11 PM
You may want SyncTwoFolders (http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/30727). I've not used it but do have it "just in case." Back in the days before I switched to SD! I was a big Synk fan and it did folder to folder very well and easily. Usually just Finder copying will suffice but there are times when something way deep inside may have a screwy permissions issue. Synk could handle those. I am unsure if SyncTwoFolders does.