PDA

View Full Version : SeaGate External Hardrive: Is it bootable?


huisking
02-14-2008, 05:50 PM
I have been using superduper for a long time to clone my Imac G5 and Ibook G4. Neither hard drive ever failed - luckily. Now that I am going to upgrade my G5 to Leopard, they suggested making my clone (like I always do) and CHECK it it works. I tried to boot from it to check -- holding down the option/alt button but the drive option does NOT come up. I have a Lacie that I do the same thing from and it comes up. Have I been making a clone on a seagate thinking it was working but in reality, it won't boot? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
skip

dnanian
02-14-2008, 06:50 PM
Are you sure the drive is properly partitioned? Select the external drive hardware (not the volume) in Disk Utility's sidebar and then look at the lower right side of the window. What's the "Partition Scheme"?

huisking
02-15-2008, 05:16 PM
The partition scheme is smart boot. Is that a problem?
Thanks
Skip

huisking
02-15-2008, 05:21 PM
Sorry about that, I am running between two computers and misread the lower right corner. How can I get on the list so that when a message is posted, I get an email....???
Thanks,
Skip

dnanian
02-15-2008, 05:35 PM
Yes: Master Boot record won't work. It has to be "GUID" for an Intel Mac, or "Apple Partition Map" for Power PC. You can repartition using the Partition tab: the partition types are in the Options button, then repartition (even as a single partition). Note that this will erase the external.

huisking
02-15-2008, 06:02 PM
I was afraid that when I took it out of the box 2 years ago and set it up for the Mac, I might have missed something. Fortunately, I have a Lacie that I back up at the same time so I do have one bootable version of my G5 with the Tiger OS. I am know loading Leopard and once that is set up, I will take this seagate and make it my backup bootable clone. I will make sure that I partition it with the appropriate settings. Any problems yet with the new superduper for Leopard? I just started using it for my laptop this week and bit the bullet and purchased leopard for My G5 so the two will by synced...
Have a great weekend.
Skip

dnanian
02-15-2008, 06:17 PM
Nothing serious, no: it's working quite well.