PDA

View Full Version : Size of Drives between primary and target


Phrehdd
02-10-2008, 05:00 AM
I am sure this must have been answered before but as a newbie to SuperDuper I am hoping someone could give me a quick response.

If as example one has a 750 gig drive with a total of 450 gigs used, can this 450 gigs be backed up to say, a 500 gig drive?

I know that with some other backup tools you cannot backup as it compares the size of each drive and the backup drive must be same size or larger.

Thanks in advance for any help

Phrehdd

dnanian
02-10-2008, 09:57 AM
Yes. But remember: data always grows (and grows and grows)...

legaltocarry
02-10-2008, 10:07 AM
Hi! But also remember the resulting clone likely wouldn't work well since you would be getting low on disk space in short order. Tom

Phrehdd
02-10-2008, 04:22 PM
Hi! But also remember the resulting clone likely wouldn't work well since you would be getting low on disk space in short order. Tom


Yes, I agree that data grows. The question is remains can SuperDuper create a backup of 450 gigs of data on a 750 gig drive to a target disk that is larger than 450 gigs but smaller than the 750 gig size drive?

Here is one example of where this would be handy.

If you have a Mac Pro (handles 4 drives internally), you might set up a system where two drives are striped, one drive is for a backup and the 4th drive is used for say VM of Windows or bootcamp and as perhaps other uses.

Example

2x 750 gig drive striped and uses as the primary "drive" for OSX/Apps etc.
1 750 gig drive for back up target (assuming data is smaller than 750 gigs)
1 750 gig drive for Windows and other uses

the striped drive offers speed
the back up is used in case one of the drives of the stripe fails and for EFI upgrades (EFI upgrades don't do well with the sofware raid at times).

I don't intend to use more than 50 percent of the Raid 0 (striped) volume and would simply move stored media files outside the system. The use is strictly for read/write speed.

So - can SuperDuper handle this set up? I wish to avoid messing with Unix style "rsynch" scripts etc. Btw, I am using Leopard OSX 10.5x

Thanks : )

Phrehdd

PS - if SuperDuper can do this, its a very good "safe" set up for folks like me that work with larger media files.

TMay
02-10-2008, 04:33 PM
Phrrehdd

Dave already gave you your answer; I think legaltocarry (hee) was just trying to amplify it. Answer is yes. S/D does not suffer from the problem that's worrying you (volume size of target must match or exceed VOLUME size of source.) Only data size governs. Specifically, your 1.5T source will be fine with a 750g target...as long as the data stays under 750g.