PDA

View Full Version : Bootable Image Question


IronMac
05-11-2005, 06:26 PM
Hi, please bear with me if this has been done to death but a couple of us have a question about using SD for making a bootable image.

So, is it possible to use SD to make a bootable image/clone on a separate HD or FW device that already has files/folders on it?

My situation is that I would like to clone my Panther drive onto a smaller internal HD that already has several gigs of older files on it. Can SD help me do this? Thanks!

P.S. another user wants to do about the same thing but on to an external FW drive.

dnanian
05-11-2005, 06:36 PM
You can make a *single* copy to a drive, using "Copy Newer" or "Copy Different", if there are files on the drive (as long as there aren't any folders that might be in conflict). However, those methods will *NOT* guarantee bootability past the first copy, since some updates must have files removed to work properly...

Does that help?

IronMac
05-11-2005, 06:44 PM
Wow!!! Fast reply! :)

It certainly answers my question and I will relay your answer to my compadre. Thank you!!! :D

dnanian
05-11-2005, 06:45 PM
You're welcome!