PDA

View Full Version : Mybook and Super Duper

ec1linda
12-27-2007, 09:36 PM
Hiya

Newbie to here and a fairly new Mac user too.

I have purchased a Mybook Premium 250Gb drive, I tried to do a backup tonight using Super Duper but was informed that I needed to reformat the Mybook as it was configured for Windows. Is this normal with these products? I have been so used to just plugging and playing with my new Mac...reformatting seems to be a bit 'PC'.

I followed the prompts on screen and went to the disk utilities to reformat the Mybook and was then presented with a menu on the left hand side of the screen which listed the drives/discs; however there were two icons relating to the Mybook - the top one wasn't actually named but was listed using it's available space i.e. '241Gb', the one beneath (and slightly indented to the right) was actually called 'Mybook'. Is the second icon the one which I should be reformatting?

Any tips or suggestions for a total newbie would be really appreciated...please keep it simple, you can probably tell I am not too techie (hence I got a Mac, they just work!). Really appreciate your valuable help. :)

dnanian
12-27-2007, 09:44 PM
Well, that's because the drive is more than a bit "PC" -- it comes partitioned and formatted for Windows.

Here's what to do:

Select the upper entry in the Disk Utility sidebar. Click the Partition tab. Click the Options button. Choose the proper partition scheme for your Mac, either Apple Partition Map (Power PC) or GUID (Intel) and accept the choice. Name the partition and choose "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" as the format. Click Partition.

That should do it.

ec1linda
01-03-2008, 12:27 PM
Thank you - finally got around to having a play with my new technology today this has indeed worked a treat :)