PDA

View Full Version : problem when I try to backup


AlloyDesign
11-11-2007, 07:28 AM
Hi
i tried the free version to back up my new iMac using erase and copy
everything worked fine and got myself a beautiful cloned drive
so I bought it to get the smart update
now it goes through the "Prepare to copy files"
all good
then it gets to "Copy files"
and stops
says there's 750000 files
but won't do anything else, and I've let it run for at least half an hour after it gets to this point, but it still says copied 0 files
my external drive is a WD MyBook pro running RAID 1
so it worked fine first time, and then nothing
and if I quit SD and relaunch it doesn't even get past the preparing Mac HD
cheers

dnanian
11-11-2007, 11:46 AM
Try powering off your Mac and backup drive, then giving it another try...

AlloyDesign
11-12-2007, 01:42 AM
yep, tried that
tried restarting and repairing permissions on both drives
still won't back up
and I also tried to restart from the backup and it wouldn't do that either

dnanian
11-12-2007, 11:57 AM
Sounds to me like you've got a device attached that's not responding properly. Have you turned off and disconnected everything but the devices that are directly involved?

AlloyDesign
11-13-2007, 01:33 AM
Hi Dave
thanks for your replies
but I've stumbled onto a fix for the problem
turns out that if you turn on FileVault to encrypt your drive
that stops SD from working
when I originally backed my drive up, it wasn't encrypted
I then turned on FileVault and I couldn't back up
now I've turned FileVault off
and everythings fine again! yay! Smart backups with no worries
I love SuperDuper!
cheers
Keith

dnanian
11-13-2007, 10:18 AM
Well, I don't think it does, actually -- we have a number of users who use FileVault with SuperDuper. It does interfere with Smart Update, and as documented in the User's Guide you can't back up while logged into a FileVault account, but it does work...

AlloyDesign
11-14-2007, 05:55 PM
Hi Dave
well you would assume people would read the user manual wouldn't you? ;)
but thankyou again for your reply, and it's great to know I can still use FileVault.
This makes SD even better as my backup solution.
cheers
Keith