PDA

View Full Version : Stopping and Resuming SD! clone activity


barrysharp
10-30-2007, 11:33 PM
One feature I'd like to see SD! offering is the ability to pause/stop it during a cloning operation and at a later time resuming it.

Why?

1. Cloning can take a long time and uses a fair amount of system resources so being able to pause and resume it would allow some other critical workflow to speed along.

2. In the event the system goes down while SD! is cloning a large volume it would be nice to have SD! resume where it was interrupted when subsequently launched.

What do yea all think ? Thanks... :)

Regards.... Barry Sharp

dnanian
10-30-2007, 11:34 PM
The way to do this: stop (cancel) and start again with Smart Update. It only takes a few minutes to "resume", and that way it'll copy things you've changed, too.

barrysharp
10-30-2007, 11:36 PM
Will that also cover the system interruption case. I mean, will there be any corruption as a result of a hard crash while SD! is writing the clone ?

barrysharp
10-30-2007, 11:38 PM
Incidentally, Leopard's Time Machine can recover from a system interruption and continue on from where it was interrupted suddenly. Apple did a smart thing having this feature IMO. :)

dnanian
10-30-2007, 11:57 PM
Depends entirely on the type of interruption. Hard to recover if the drive's structure was damaged.