PDA

View Full Version : Intel images need to be unique?


carillon
09-25-2007, 07:28 PM
I created an image on a MacPro which is Intel Dual Core... I then tried booting a MacBook which is Intel Core Duo and it kernel panicked. Will I need to maintain a separate image for each specific type of Intel processor?

With my PowerPC images I could image and boot any PowerPC Mac that I administer which is a lot!

Thanks!

dnanian
09-25-2007, 10:49 PM
Until the OSes are "synced up", yes, you're likely going to have to do that for the most recent Intel macs. This is no different than Power PCs were when they were being revved...

carillon
09-26-2007, 10:36 AM
Thanks Dave, what do you mean by sync'd up?

dnanian
09-26-2007, 11:49 AM
New Macs tend to have special OS builds that are shipped with them. Those changes usually get included in the next minor release, thus syncing the special build with the main build...

carillon
09-26-2007, 02:21 PM
Since I have around 12 new Macs ranging from MacBooks to iMacs to MacPros, I like to use the same image to build them all so they all have a consistent build with the apps they need etc.

This is how I have always built new PowerPC based Macs that we received. The PowerPC Macs are built using a standard image created by SuperDuper! close to 2 years ago. I have updated the image by booting from it and running Software Update occasionally as well as updating the installed apps.

What if I take one of the new Intel based Macs and do a format and install from the OS X Tiger DVD. Run Software Update until everything is updated. Then install/update all of the base apps etc. After that, should I be able to clone that image to an external drive and then clone it to another one of the new Intel Macs and have it be able to boot?

THANKS AGAIN!

dnanian
09-26-2007, 03:13 PM
Maybe. I don't know for sure whether the special build is going to work on other Macs.