PDA

View Full Version : Keyboard doesn't work after using superduper


bustardvan
06-23-2007, 12:13 AM
Hi, I made a copy of all files from my macintosh hd to my external drive. I restarted the computer booting from the external drive and everything was fine. So I copied all files from the external to the internal harddrive and restarted the computer with the internal harddrive. Everything looked fine until I went down to my dock. All the icons were screwed up. The icons were blank sheets and folders. I also noticed that the function keys on my macbook pro wouldnt work since I couldnt change the screen brightness or volume.
I thought this was caused by my internal harddrive being named "untitled" and not "macintosh hd" and this was causing the problems.

So I decided to redo everything and copy all files from my external to my internal drive. This time I made sure the internal drive was named "Macintosh HD." After it was done copying the files I shutdown the computer and disconnected the external harddrive. The computer took a little longer than usual to start up. After I logged in, I noticed the dock icons were fine but now the keyboard and trackpad on the macbook pro does not work. I can only use my external keyboard and mouse to control the computer. Also, I can't control my volume or screen brightness from my external keyboard.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thanks

dnanian
06-23-2007, 08:25 AM
But everything works fine on the original copy when you start up from the backup drive?

bustardvan
06-23-2007, 04:01 PM
No, now the keyboard/trackpad no longer works when started up from either drive. Whats strange is that I only made one back up of my original system. The first time i copied it to my internal drive only the function keys wouldn't work. The second time I re-copied it using the same backup is when the entire keyboard wouldn't work.

dnanian
06-23-2007, 05:17 PM
Did you back up from a different model Mac? I've never seen a keyboard stop working like this before, and it seems like it's a "unexpected hardware" issue.

bustardvan
06-24-2007, 05:21 PM
-Nope, same computer.

Aright I figured it out. The first time I tried copying the drive back to the internal only the function keys wouldn't work. So I recopied the clone to the internal hd again just to see if it would make a difference. And this time the entire keyboard and trackpad wouldnt work.
It was driving me crazy! But I figured it out. So what was causing the keyboard and trackpad not to work? A stick of ram. When I made the clone I had 2 gigs of ram installed. Afterwards I had taken a stick out and was copying the clone with 1 gig of ram.

Now I don't know how the ram affects just the keyboard and trackpad but that was it.

Thanks for your help Dnanian.

dnanian
06-24-2007, 05:33 PM
Really! That's curious, but I'm glad you figured it out.