PDA

View Full Version : New MacPro cannot boot from firewire drive


dlove
06-21-2007, 09:54 AM
I just got my new macpro and I'm trying to boot from a bootable firewire drive that I created from SD. The FW drive appears on the desktop and functions fine. When I restart with the option key pressed, the FW drive does not appear. I was able to boot on my old G5 mac. Any suggestions?

dnanian
06-21-2007, 09:56 AM
You can't boot from a G5 copy on a MacPro: they use different chips (Intel vs. Power PC).

dlove
06-21-2007, 10:37 AM
OK That explains it. Whats the best way to clone the FW drive. SD wont let me copy to the HD

dnanian
06-21-2007, 11:16 AM
You should use the Migration Assistant, which appears during the first startup of the new Mac, to migrate from the backup or the original Mac.

dlove
06-21-2007, 11:25 AM
Great Thanks