PDA

View Full Version : Cloning a disk containing Boot Camp


Philip playfer
06-09-2007, 10:33 AM
I note from one of the FAQ something about problems cloning a hard disk when Boot Camp is installed. I'm not sure that I understood whether this was possible not. I have a Mac Pro with two internal hard drives. I usually clone one disk to another as a security backup in case the first disk goes down. I would like to install Boot camp on my computer, but would be reluctant to do so if it was to cause problems with the use of SD. Is this likely to be a problem? And If It Is, is there a way round the problem? As an alternative are there any issues with Parallels Desktop?

dnanian
06-09-2007, 01:01 PM
It's not so much a problem as much as a fact: we can't copy a Windows partition. But the Mac side can be copied, no problem.

Make sense?

LeoSV
06-17-2007, 12:09 PM
Ok, so let me get this right.

I have a Bootcamp partition on the drive I want to clone.

If I use SuperDuper it'll just clone the Mac partition? No problems right?

dnanian
06-17-2007, 12:49 PM
Right: the Mac side copies fine.