PDA

View Full Version : Backing up to several drives


wayne_n
02-04-2007, 11:49 AM
I need to backup different folders to separate drives. Is there a 'dummy' way of setting up multiple bu's? It's hard to tell in the interface what is going to be backed up, because when you change the "using" field in the interface, the "Copy" and "to" drives/folders stay the same. Am I supposed to blindly trust that Super Duper will copy the correct files to the correct drives as Smart Backups? Help a new switcher.

Actually, I guess my question is how do I backup to a folder on the backup drive instead just copying files to the drive? I would like to keep the file tree structure intact on the backup.

wayne:confused:

dnanian
02-04-2007, 12:05 PM
It's important to note that SuperDuper! is designed to copy selected files from one volume to another. That's why the 'drives' (volumes) generally don't change.

The Copy Script ('using') is used to select the files from the source. Those files are then copied to the destination using the 'During Copy' method (Smart Update, Erase, then copy, etc).

It's pretty critical to understand what the During Copy method does. Smart Update and Erase, then copy will end up with the same result: the destination will contain only the files selected from the source. So, if you select a single folder, that's all that'll be on the destination when you're done.

Copy Different and Copy Newer are different, since they add or replace the files on the destination, but never remove anything.

Once you understand that, you can create a copy script to select the folder(s) you want to back up. In general, follow the steps in the "Excluding files or folders from a backup" section of the User's Guide, except:


In the 2nd tab, include "Exclude all files" rather than "Backup - all files"
In the 3rd tab, add the folder(s) you want to copy with this particular script. If the folders are on a different drive, start from "Volumes", then the drive, then the folder(s).

The rest of the steps are the same.

Once you set up one copy, you can save its settings using File > Save. You can also schedule it with the "Schedule..." button.

Then, set up the next one and do the same.

Hope that helps!