PDA

View Full Version : Can you be logged out and still script a clone?


stephen
12-17-2004, 11:29 AM
Is it possible to run an unattended clone when no one is logged into the computer? (ie: the computer is sitting at the login screen).

I can work through using cron to run an AppleScript, but will this combination still work without being logged in?

Stephen

dnanian
12-17-2004, 11:39 AM
Unfortunately, Steven -- no, it won't. But if you have fast user switching on, you can change to the login screen and leave the user logged in, and then the clone should proceed normally.

sjk
12-18-2004, 10:32 PM
I was just wondering about this and figured that even if the SVUclone backend were run without the GUI there'd still potentially be an issue with target volumes remaining mounted while logged out.

Ahh, first test of the Daily Backup script just finished successfully. One thing I'd like it to do is gracefully exit when the target volume is unavailable. Is that possible? Thanks!

dnanian
12-19-2004, 09:27 AM
Not at present, no: the script will basically stop and prompt for the volume. However, we've got some plans in this area... not sure when we'll get to them, but we know about the issue.

sjk
12-19-2004, 08:45 PM
Okay, thanks. It's trivial to have the cron job test if the volume is mounted before running the script. Or modify the script to do it.

dnanian
12-19-2004, 10:29 PM
Exactly. I was talking about a solution within SuperDuper!'s scripting, not the ability to accomplish what you're trying to do in the script itself... (but you clearly knew that!)

MacOfTheEast
09-04-2006, 06:39 AM
Unfortunately, Steven -- no, it won't. But if you have fast user switching on, you can change to the login screen and leave the user logged in, and then the clone should proceed normally.
Dave,

I scheduled a clone operation to run at 12:15am. I remained logged in but used Fast User Switching to display the login screen. I got the following error from CRON and the clone operation did not run...

Subject: Cron <bb@G518X2> open file:///Users/BB/Library/Application%20Support/SuperDuper%21/Scheduled%20Copies/Smart%20Update%20BACKUP2.1%20from%20RAID1.sdsp/Copy%20Job.app
Date: September 4, 2006 12:15:01 AM EDT
INIT_Processeses(), could not establish the default connection to the WindowServer.

Also noticed this error in system.log:
Sep 4 00:15:01 G518X2 open: kCGErrorRangeCheck : Window Server communications from outside of session allowed for root and console user only

From reading your earlier posts I expected this to work. Any thoughts?

Thanks,
MOTE
________
Kawasaki AR80 (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Kawasaki_AR80)

dnanian
09-04-2006, 09:13 AM
No, this should not work: it'll work if the copy is already running, but it can't "start" when you're at login screen.

MacOfTheEast
09-04-2006, 10:06 AM
No, this should not work: it'll work if the copy is already running, but it can't "start" when you're at login screen.
Hmm... ok. I know that addressing this issue is on your 'list of things to do.' Let me know if you need a tester when you decide to play with implementing an unattended functionality.

P.S. I guess the only option I have is to require a password for the screensaver. I guess that's my only option to have SD run while keeping the console safe from intruders ??


MOTE
________
buy vaporgenie (http://vaporizers.net/vapor-genie)

dnanian
09-04-2006, 10:16 AM
That's right: just set a password protected screen saver and you should be all set. It's at least as secure as rotating with Fast User Switching.