PDA

View Full Version : Can't boot from clone.


bigguyz
10-01-2006, 07:11 PM
I just backed up my PB running 10.4.8. I used a firewire HD enclosure with a 2.5 drive I had previously used to clone my PB prior to the upgrade to Tiger.

The back up will not boot the PB. The bar showing the loading of OS X goes about 1/2 way and freezes. The former back up of the PB with 10.3.9 booted fine (I made it yesterday in anticipation of the OS upgrade in case I ran into a problem.).

Please help. I am using the limited edition version. I was in hopes that this would work so I could purchase the full version to be able to do incremental back ups.

dnanian
10-01-2006, 07:15 PM
Try booting in safe boot: to do so, power all the way off, hold down shift, and power up again. Keep shift down...

bigguyz
10-02-2006, 07:09 PM
:DTry booting in safe boot: to do so, power all the way off, hold down shift, and power up again. Keep shift down...

Dave,

I tried the above without success. It did the same thing, hung at the OS X loading screen.

I re-made the back up and prior to restarting from it used disk utility to fix permissions. It also hung in the same manner as the first attempt.

I attempted to use Disk Warrior to see if it would do anything to help. Near the end of the process, it said it did not have enough room to write a new directory and save the old one so was it all right to over write the directory. I said yes but DW quit.

Hmm, no room? There should have been almost 30 gig of space. Hmm?

Well, I was bright enough to check the get info to see the size of the disk. It was full!!

I looked at its contents and found info from the BU before I upgraded to 10.4!

My deduction: the erasure in SuperDuper prior to copying did not in fact erase the HD.

I used disk utility to erase the HD and then used SD to do a back up. Lo and behold it worked!

My question is why did SD not erase the disk prior to the copying?

dnanian
10-02-2006, 07:53 PM
I don't know; we use Disk Utility to erase the disk -- it should basically format it!