PDA

View Full Version : Cannot create images with v2.1.3 under 10.3.9


Codeus
07-14-2006, 06:17 AM
Hi Dave,

It seems that I cannot create new images with SD v2.1.3(80) under Panther 10.3.9. If I Smart Update or Erase/Write an existing image it works fine but always fails when creating an image for the first time.

It also works if I roll back to SD v.2.1.1

Here is my log dump if it helps: -

| 11:06:13 AM | Info | SuperDuper!, 2.1.3 (80), path: /Applications/Utilities/SuperDuper!.app, Mac OS 10.3.9 build 7W98 (ppc)
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Started on Fri, Jul 14, 2006 at 11:06 AM
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Source Drive: boot, mount: /, device: IBM-IC35L060AVVA07-0, interconnect: Internal ATA, file system: "HFS+", OS: 10.3.9 (7W98), capacity: 9.87 GB, used: 3.11 GB, directories: 18134, files: 85874, ejectable: NO, ACLs: Disabled
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Target Image: /Volumes/Store/doris.sparseimage, name: doris
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Copy Mode : Erase, then copy files
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
| 11:06:13 AM | Info | Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | PHASE: 1. Prepare to Copy Files
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing boot
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying the integrity of volinfo.database
| 11:06:14 AM | Info |
volinfo.database OK
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on boot
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for boot
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | Permissions on '/' are enabled.
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ...ACTION: Mounting doris
| 11:06:14 AM | Info | ......COMMAND => Preparing doris
| 11:06:15 AM | Info | Initializing...
| 11:06:15 AM | Info | Creating...
| 11:06:15 AM | Info | Finishing...hdiutil: create failed - Invalid argument
| 11:06:15 AM | Error | ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=0 (Unknown error: 0)

Any help would be much appreciated and keep up the good work!

Codeus

dnanian
07-14-2006, 08:21 AM
Alas, we know. It looks like we didn't fix a bug introduced in 2.1.2 as we thought we did.

For now, you can create the empty sparse image using Disk Utility (see the FAQ) and then point us to it... we're working on the fix.

trilobyte
10-01-2006, 10:49 PM
Hi Dave,

It seems that I cannot create new images with SD v2.1.3(80) under Panther 10.3.9. If I Smart Update or Erase/Write an existing image it works fine but always fails when creating an image for the first time.

It also works if I roll back to SD v.2.1.1

Here is my log dump if it helps: -



Any help would be much appreciated and keep up the good work!

Codeus

Hello,
I am getting the same thing in the same situation. I am a new user and it has frustrated me.

Also, I am getting this output in Console if it matters:

2006-10-01 21:31:26.544 SuperDuper![436] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class AbstractObject in suite NSCoreSuite
2006-10-01 21:31:26.544 SuperDuper![436] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class NSDocument in suite NSCoreSuite
2006-10-01 21:31:26.544 SuperDuper![436] attribute terminology dictionary not found for attribute path in class SDSessionSettings in suite SuperDuperSuite
2006-10-01 21:32:15.642 SuperDuper![436] ***ERROR OCCURRED: ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=0 (Unknown error: 0)
2006-10-01 21:34:46.871 SuperDuper![436] LSCopyItemInfoForURL() returned -35 for path /.vol.
2006-10-01 21:34:47.341 SuperDuper![436] LSCopyItemInfoForURL() returned -35 for path /dev.

Thanks,
trilobyte

dnanian
10-02-2006, 08:51 AM
Understood. The Console messages don't really help, actually -- we're aware of the problem.

So, to work around the issue, create the sparse image, of the appropriate size, using Disk Utility. You'll only have to do this once.

1. Open Disk Utility (found in /Applications/Utilities).
2. Without selecting any volume/drive on the left side, click the New Image toolbar button.
3. Give the image an appropriate name (like Backup), and store it on a drive other than the one you're trying to back up.
4. In the Size pop-up, choose Custom.
5. In the sheet that appears, enter the size of the drive you're trying to back up. Note that the pop-up does not have a selection for GB: you need to enter "40000" MB for 40GB. Click OK when you've got the right size entered.
6. Decide whether or not you want the image encrypted, and choose the proper value in the Encryption pop-up.
7. In the Format pop-up, choose sparse disk image.
8. Click Create.

Once it's created, go back to SuperDuper! and choose the "Disk Image..." selection in the destination pop-up. Navigate to the location where you created the image and click it (it's grey, but that's OK -- click it anyway), then click "Save".

trilobyte
10-02-2006, 01:10 PM
Understood. The Console messages don't really help, actually -- we're aware of the problem.

So, to work around the issue, create the sparse image, of the appropriate size, using Disk Utility. You'll only have to do this once.

1. Open Disk Utility (found in /Applications/Utilities).
2. Without selecting any volume/drive on the left side, click the New Image toolbar button.
3. Give the image an appropriate name (like Backup), and store it on a drive other than the one you're trying to back up.
4. In the Size pop-up, choose Custom.
5. In the sheet that appears, enter the size of the drive you're trying to back up. Note that the pop-up does not have a selection for GB: you need to enter "40000" MB for 40GB. Click OK when you've got the right size entered.
6. Decide whether or not you want the image encrypted, and choose the proper value in the Encryption pop-up.
7. In the Format pop-up, choose sparse disk image.
8. Click Create.

Once it's created, go back to SuperDuper! and choose the "Disk Image..." selection in the destination pop-up. Navigate to the location where you created the image and click it (it's grey, but that's OK -- click it anyway), then click "Save".

Hello,

Thanks for the help. I sought out the above information from the FAQ earlier and began the process. One question: is it bad to point SuperDuper! to the mounted image, rather than the image file itself?

Another question: have you heard of some files not being able to copy due to corrupt file/creator types? (The same files also can not be properly accessed by other Finder operations, such as "Create archive..." or Duplicate.) Obviously not your problem, but SuperDuper!'s thorough scanning of all the files on my hard drive are turning up strange things in the dark recesses. (If you have no answer, don't worry about it; I can delete the files. ;) )

Thanks,
trilobyte

dnanian
10-02-2006, 02:55 PM
No, it's OK to point at the mounted image -- we'll auto-mount it that way, but won't unmount.

As far as weird corrupt files, oh yes, we've heard of that. There is, alas, not much we can do except help users do exactly the kind of thing you've been doing (try duplicating, delete, etc).

nickair
10-10-2006, 06:31 AM
I had the same problem and your post helped to fix it. Thank you Dave for your always good support!!!