PDA

View Full Version : Newbie dumb questions

MacAfrican
07-06-2006, 11:12 AM
I'm new to the Mac world and just downloaded SD (10.4.7 doesn't work so well with my Canon utilities and now I hear I should have gotten SD long ago...)

B4 I start, some basic tips please?

Q1: Can I use a second internal disk to backup/clone to? I know it's not a safe place, but thought it'd be fast and I will also backup to an external on longer cycles.
Q1A: If yes, should I set up a partition on my external disk and clone to that partition? My second disk already has stuff on it, but data only so not stuff that I'll need to do a system recovery.

Q2: would I be better off with two physically seperate firewire disks of say 250 each or one huge external firewire? I'd like to keep a weekly copy, a month-end copy and a copy of the month-end before that one (i.e 30 June, 31 May and a Sunday weekly)

Thank you, and I am am printing the manual to start reading. Promise

dnanian
07-06-2006, 11:29 AM
While you can use an internal disk to copy to, it's generally better to use an external drive that you can easily rotate/put away/turn off/etc.

More physical redundancy is better than less. So, I'd suggest two external drive rather than one partitioned one.

MacAfrican
07-06-2006, 11:48 AM
thank you, just reading the manual actually worked (for a change :) )

I'm setting up an 80 Mb partition on my second internal on which I'll do my weeklies and then I'll do my monthly on an external firewire.

Q1: For that external, should I partition it so that I then get a partition on which I backup the main system stuff and which is bootable, and then a second partition onto which I backup my data files like pictures & video?