PDA

View Full Version : Restart from Sandbox > Could that be "temporary" please?


mypointofview
04-20-2006, 08:25 PM
Hi, I just discovered that I'm running on Sandbox since a week -- unexpectedly :mad:

I had done a "backup" to Sandbox and told the program to then, after finishing, to restart from Sandbox because I wanted to quickly check upon a new program installation which would involve running a complex installer.

I thought that this change of Startup Disk would be temporary -- similar to a choice of start volume when you hold the option key upon startup.

Since the Sandbox concept is such, that you use the Sandbox system in a temporary manner anyways, I suggest to let this change in startup volume also be just *temporary*.

Sincerely, martin.

dnanian
04-20-2006, 08:34 PM
Sorry, Martin -- that's not something I'm likely to do. The *idea* of the Sandbox is to boot from it and stay there, and a temporary boot would really mess that up. For example, if an installer (like a software update) needs you to restart (quite likely), a "temporary" selection would suddenly boot you from a different drive...

mypointofview
04-20-2006, 09:49 PM
if an installer (like a software update) needs you to restart (quite likely), a "temporary" selection would suddenly boot you from a different drive...

This makes sense. ;)

Martin

dnanian
04-20-2006, 09:57 PM
Good -- sorry for the confusion you encountered, though.