PDA

View Full Version : SandBox


blue9
03-22-2006, 04:18 AM
Hello all, I bought SD yesterday and I made my first sandbox to my Ext.. FireWire drive. Every thing worked just like the manual said !!. This morning I turned on the Mac and listed for the FireWire drive to start making it's noises, so I know it's booting from there. Then, got to the gray screen with the little white Apple and nothing else happened, (Stopped in its tracks.) So I powered down and had a another shot at it, (No Go) so I unpluged the Ext firewire drive and re powered up in to the main OS. So the Question !! I looked for the answer but can not find it in the manual. My Lacie firewire drive says in its own manual allways (eject) before turning off the machine. Does this apply also when shuting down while in Sandbox ? as maybe this is the reason it would not boot up from the Firewire drive. as last night I just selected shut down with out ejecting. and if I should eject before turning off the machine, then I'm back in the main OS and any files written while shutting down will be written to the main OS and not sandbox. I hope this makes sence to all that may know !! thanks a lot for any feed back.. ;)


Sorry have found the answer I think.....
You don't need to eject FW drives when you shut down -- that happens automatically.

DaleMeyn
03-22-2006, 08:11 AM
Look at "how to avoid FW drives that don't boot", you might have the wrong chipset in the HD bridge/controller. I think LaCie Porsche drives are offenders in that regard. Dale Meyn.

dnanian
03-22-2006, 08:35 AM
We you able to boot up from it once, blue9? It certainly sounds like it boots OK, but a grey screen boot wouldn't usually happen after a successful first boot... perhaps powering everything off and back on will help clear up what's wrong. Make sure to power off all peripherals, including USB devices.

blue9
03-22-2006, 02:13 PM
We you able to boot up from it once, blue9? It certainly sounds like it boots OK, but a grey screen boot wouldn't usually happen after a successful first boot... perhaps powering everything off and back on will help clear up what's wrong. Make sure to power off all peripherals, including USB devices.


Yep waited a min or 2 and sure enough she started up perfect the 3rd time. so who knows, but I'm sure it's not to much of a problem.

Thanks for the feedback.

dnanian
03-22-2006, 02:31 PM
Probably not... glad you got it fixed. Sometimes, a little power cycling works wonders. :)

blue9
03-23-2006, 09:12 AM
Yep did it again, this morning !! So I shutdown and turned the Lacie FW drive off and booted back up in to the main OS - Rebooted again with FW drive turned back on and Bingo booted of the FW drive.
So Re: the quote above::

Look at "how to avoid FW drives that don't boot", you might have the wrong chipset in the HD bridge/controller. I think LaCie Porsche drives are offenders in that regard. Dale Meyn.
Reply With Quote

I have a brand New Lacie 400GB triple d2. Would any one have any tips on where I can find info on this above Quote ? - chipset in the HD bridge/controller !!
Thanks again for any feedback.

dnanian
03-23-2006, 09:27 AM
It just sounds like a timing issue, blue9. I know the d2/d3 uses Oxford, so the chipset is fine: you may just need to play these power games to get things to work.