PDA

View Full Version : Backup disk config. for backups


hattorihanzo
03-13-2006, 09:55 PM
Hello,

I registered and have a full version of SuperDuper.

If I wanted to make a backup of my boot drive and my data drive, do I need to create 2 partitions on my backup drive?

Boot drive: 80g
Data drive: 250g
Backup drive: 250g

Cheers,
Hattori Hanzo

dnanian
03-13-2006, 10:08 PM
Yes, you'll want a destination partition for each source partition or drive of sufficient size to fit the data's "maximum size" plus a little as working space.

Alternatively, you can back up to individual sparse images on a single partition, but those aren't directly bootable until restored.

hattorihanzo
03-13-2006, 10:10 PM
Wow, that was a quick reply!

Thank you for the suggestion. I will try that out tonight.

Cheers,
Hattori Hanzo

dnanian
03-13-2006, 10:17 PM
OK -- let me know how it goes!

hattorihanzo
03-14-2006, 07:15 PM
OK -- let me know how it goes!

I setup 2 partitions on my backup drive. Did a full backup from my boot drive onto the 1st partition of the backup drive and a custom backup from my data drive onto the 2nd partition of the backup drive. Worked great!

I was able to boot the backup boot drive with no probs.

Great product. Now the next step is setup it via a scheduled event..

Cheers,
Hattori Hanzo

dnanian
03-14-2006, 09:13 PM
Terrific! That's how it's supposed to work.